Team

Principal Investigators

Dr. Sumit Paudyal [CREPES Director and Lead PI, FIU]
Eminent Scholar Chaired Associate Professor

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Florida International University

Email: spaudyal@fiu.edu

Phone: 305-348-8017

Power System Computational Laboratory

Area of Expertise: Smart Grid, Optimization, Power System Dynamics and Control, Power System Protection. 

Dr. Paras Mandal [PI, UTEP]

Director, Power & Renewable Energy Systems Lab
Associate Professor

Electrical and Computer Engineering

University of Texas at El Paso

Email: pmandal@utep.edu

Phone: 915-747-8653

PRES Laboratory

Area of Expertise: Smart Grid, Cyber-physical Systems, Machine Learning,  Energy Market, Forecasting

Dr. Stephen U. Egarievwe [PI,  AAMU]
Professor

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Alabama A&M University

Email: stephen.egarievwe@aamu.edu

Phone: 256-372-8952

Area of Expertise: Nuclear Engineering, Quantum Optics, Data Analytics 

NNSA Laboratory Partners

Dr. Felipe Wilches-Bernal [PI, SNL]
Senior Researcher

Sandia National Laboratory

Email: fwilche@sandia.edu

Phone: 505-845-8292

Area of Expertise: Renewable Energy Systems, Resilient Control 

Dr. Jhi-Yong Joo [PI, LLNL]
Engineer, Distribution Automation Lead

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Email: joo3@llnl.edu

Phone: 925-422-0074

Area of Expertise: Distributed Energy Resources, Demand Response, Optimization and Contol

Team Members

Dr. Osama A. Mohammed, FIEEE [CO-PI, FIU]
Distinguished Professor and Associate Dean of Research

Florida International University

Email: mohammed@fiu.edu

Phone: 305-348-3040

Energy System Research Laboratory

Area of Expertise: Smart Grid, Power and Energy, Electric Machines and Drives, Power Electronics

Dr. Mohammad Ashiqur Rahman [CO-PI, FIU]
Assistant Professor

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Florida International University

Email: marahman@fiu.edu

Phone: 305-348-3724

Analytics for Cyber Defense (ACyD) Laboratory

Area of Expertise: Security of Smart Grids, Cyber-physical systems, Internet of Things

Dr. Trina Fletcher [CO-PI, FIU]
Assistant Professor of Engineering Education

SUCCEED

Florida International University

Fletcher Research Group

Email: trfletch@fiu.edu

Phone: 305-348-0196

Area of Expertise: Diversity, equaity, and inclusion in STEM

 Dr. David Roelant 

Associate Director of Research

Applied Research Center (ARC)
Florida International University

Email: roelantd@utep.edu

Phone: 305-348-6625

Dr. Chris Ford

Applied Research Center (ARC)
Florida International University

Email: jaford@utep.edu

Phone: 305-348-1817

Dr. Sai Mounika Errapotu [CO-PI, UTEP]
Assistant Professor 

Electrical and Computer Engineering

University of Texas at El Paso

Email: serrapotu@utep.edu

Phone: 915-747-6964

Cyber Physical Systems Privacy and Security Enhanced Computing (CyPSEC) Laboratory
Area of Expertise: Cyber-security, Information Security and  Privacy,  Hardware Security

 Dr. Sandra L Oviedo Ramirez

Senior Program Evaluator
Office of Research and Sponsored Research

University of Texas at El Paso

Email: sloviedoramirez@utep.edu

Phone: 915-747-8454